This annual event on November 9, 2017 honors women leaders from our community. Over the years these wonderful leaders have been teachers, business owners or volunteers. Empowering and nurturing women leaders are core to the YWCA mission. This event celebrates the women who in a variety of ways inspire, motivate and effect positive change in our community.

We will be at a new location for our dinner awards, the beautiful Smith’s Tropical Paradise in Wailua at 5:30pm. Doors open at 5pm. This night of recognition will be a celebration of our honorees with delicious food, entertainment, and women empowerment.

To purchase tickets, call 245-5959 ext 224 until 1pm on 11/9 or you can purchase tickets at the door.


2017 Honorees

Jen Chahanovich is the Chief Executive Officer of Wilcox Health which is one of Kaua’i’s largest employers, whilst also finding time to volunteer for various elected positions on various community organizations and professional associations, including the Chamber of Commerce.  She is passionately committed to providing quality care for patients as well as being equally motivated to support her staff, volunteers, donors, and community partners.






Sabra Kauka is a glowing example of true Aloha Spirit, and travels around the world involving herself deeply with other indigenous cultures while faithfully teaching Hawaiian heritage practices to the next generation here at home.  In addition to being a Hawaiian Culture kumu at Island School, she is also the go-to person for public and private entities who need a consultant on Hawaiian Protocol.  Sabra is also known for her mastery of fiber arts, including kapa making and lauhala weaving.






Marynel Valenzuela is the humble yet hardworking owner and operator of Inkspot Quality Printing Corp., and a prominent figure in the Filipino business community.  Her voluntary and professional associations are numerous including being a Past Director of the Kauai Filipino Chamber of Commerce and current Vice President of the Kauai Hospice Board just to name a few.  She generously sponsors Graphic Design students at Kauai Community College and her passion for creativity and fashion have resulted in the annual event known as Kauai Fashion Weekend.







Previous Na Wahine Alaka’i O Kaua’i Award winners:

 Donna Apisa, Priscilla Badua, Claudia Brown, Stella Burgess, Magdalena “Nena” Cardoso, Ellen Ching, Carol Ann Davis, Nancy Golden, Jalene Huff, Leina`ala Jardin, Sue Kanoho, Sandra Kato-Klutke, Gina Kaulukukui, Laola Lake-Aia, Nadine Nakamura, Stacy Ricciardi, Bernie Sakoda, Kuulei`aloha Santos, Traci Sullivan, Kaui Tanaka, Carla Thomas, and Toni Torres.